

Conference on Sustainable Telecommunication Sector in Nepal

On the occasion of

World Telecommunication and Information Society Day, 2024 Hotel Yak & Yeti, Kathmandu, Friday, May 17, 2024

Tentative Programme

	Friday, May 17, 2024
09.30 -10.30	Registration
10.30-12.00	Session 1 – Celebration of World Telecommunication and Information
	Society Day (WTISD-24)
	Opening
	 Welcome Address by Mr. Bhupendra Bhandari, Chairman, NTA
	Message from
	 ITU, General Secretary (Video)
	 ITU Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific, Mr. Nabhonil Roy
	o APT, Mr. Forhadul Parvez
	• Key Note on "Sustainable Telecom Sector and Digital Innovation",
	Mr. Forhadul Parvez, Program Officer, APT
	• Special Guest Address by Hon'ble Ms. Rekha Sharma, Minister,
	Ministry of Communication and Information Technology (MOCIT)
	• Chief Guest Address by Rt. Hon'ble Prime Minister Mr. Pushpa Kamal
	Dahal (Prachanda), Government of Nepal
12.00 – 12.15	Coffee/Tea Break

12.15 – 13.30	Session 2 – Telecommunications Sector: Status, Challenges, and
	Opportunities
	The topics to be discussed in this session include:
	 Telecom Market of Nepal: Status, Challenges, and Opportunities
	 Dr. Bimal Acharya, Manager, Nepal Telecom
	 Mr. Vishal Mani Upadhya, CLRO, Ncell Axiata
	Mr Sudeep Acharya, Dish Media Network
	Regulatory Initiatives And Division Konner Beauty Dr. Dandin Beauty NTA
	Mr. Bijay Kumar Roy/Dr. Pradip Paudyal, NTA
	Panel Discussion: - Way Forward for Sustainable Telecom Market (50 minutes)
	Panelist:
	Mr. Bijay Kumar Roy, Director, NTA
	 Ms. Sangita Pahadee (Aryal), MD, Nepal Telecom
	 Mr. Jabbor Kayumov, CEO, Ncell Axiata
	Mr. Binay Bohara, CEO, Vianet Communications
	Mr. Suresh Kumar Pudasaine, Telecom Expert
	Moderator : Mr. Manoj Ghimire (ICT Expert, Founder of RARA Lab)
13.30 – 14:30	Lunch Break
14:30 –16.30	Session 3 –Regulation for Sustainable Telecom Sector
	The topics to be discussed in this session include:
	Analysis of contemporary regulatory regime
	O Mr. Anup Upreti, Pioneer Law O Literarchican of Doct Proceedings of LCT Proceedings O Literarchican of Doct Procedure of LCT Procedure O Literarchican of LCT Procedure O
	International Best Practices of ICT Regulation On Mr. Nebbanil Roy, Digital Government Expert, ITLL On Mr. Nebbanil Roy, Digital Government Expert, I
	Mr. Nabhonil Roy, Digital Government Expert, ITU
	Panel Discussion – Way Forward on ICT/Telecom Regulation (80 minutes)
	Panelist:
	Mr. Rabindra Jha, Board Member, NTA
	Mr. Bhesh Raj Kanel, Telecom Expert
	Mr. Nabhonil Roy, Digital Government Expert, ITU
	Mr. Forhadul Parvez, Program Officer, APT
	Moderator: Mr. Biswash Regmi (ICT Journalist)

16.30 -17.45	Session 4 – Digital Innovation for Nepal's Sustainable Development
	Presentation:
	 Digital Innovation for Sustainable Development
	o Dr. Pradip Paudyal, NTA
	Panelist:
	 Honourable, Dr. Ram Kumar Phuyal, Member, Member, NPC
	 Dr. Gunakar Bhatta, Executive Director, NRB
	 Mr. Anil Kumar Dutta, Joint Secretary, MoCIT
	Ms. Binda Magar, Policy Advisor (Governance) and Assistant Resident
	Representative (Prog) UNDP Nepal
	Mr. Arun Khatri, CEO, BitsKraft Nepal
	Moderator: Mr. Hempal Shrestha, ICT Expert
17.45 -17.50	Session 4 - Closing Remarks
	Mr. Ramkrishna Subedi, Secretary, MoCIT
18.00	Networking Dinner
Onwards	